Trek news

On Monday, Paramount Pictures and Qualcomm announced the official STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS iPhone app at the annual Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas. The app is set to hit the iTunes store at the end of January. During the presentation, which included INTO DARKNESS star Alive Eve, it was revealed that the app will unlock a surprise during the second quarter of this year’s Super Bowl on February 3rd.
 
According to the press release, some of the app’s features will include:
 
 
• An image scan function that enables users to interact with images printed or viewable in the real world;
 
• An audio scan function that can be turned on to automatically recognize and reward users for watching “STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS” content on TV and other media;
 
• A geofencing function for location-based experiences;
 
• New “STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS” content, such as videos, images and wallpapers delivered directly to users’ mobile devices;
 
• Exclusive opportunities and special offers only available to app users;
 
• New “STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS” content, such as videos, images and wallpapers delivered directly to users’ mobile devices;
 
• Exclusive opportunities and special offers only available to app users;
 
During the second quarter of the big game, (thats American football) the app will allow users the ability to unlock the first of many surprises during the airing of the “STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS” tv-spot, making this one of the most unique and interactive apps ever created for a movie. As a bonus, users who register for the app will be automatically entered into a sweepstakes for the chance to win a VIP trip to the U.S. premiere. To be the first to get the app and enter the sweepstakes, visit www.StarTrekMovie.com/CES.
 
Item 2
 
Earlier this week, Star Trek‘s original Captain Kirk, William Shatner appeared on CNN News Room to discuss his one-man show, Shatner’s World. In addition to the tour, Shatner talked plenty about Star Trek. 
Asked about who would win in a fight between his Kirk and Patrick Stewart’s Picard character, Shatner weighed in with his own opinion, saying:
 
In real life, he could probably kick my ass. In fiction, I’d kick his ass.
 
Shatner was also asked about Star Trek (2009) and Star Trek Into Darkness director J.J. Abrams and his reboot of the franchise.
 
Shatner said; “J.J. Abrams is a great filmmaker. The way he has brought a major audience into the franchise, is to make a ride. Where Star Trek becomes one of those rides with explosions and action and the wonderful people they’ve got playing the roles. He has made Star Trek popular once again with a larger audience. So he seems to be doing the right thing.
 
The Trek we were in told a more personal story. [We] told a story with more soul to it, if you will.”
 
Item 3 
JJ and the press junkets have started cranking up more and more as the film release looms closer, 
 
Discussing the film’s villain John Harrison, played by Benedict Cumberbatch, Abrams said:
 
“I just can’t wait for people to see the movie. Benedict is unbelievable. It’s a tall order, coming into that movie, because the crew of the Enterprise – that cast – is so damn good and they’re wonderful to work with and they’re all good hearts. So, to come into that group, as he did, as Alice Eve did and as Peter Weller did, and be one of the family was something that I was doubtful could happen. And he completely did it. I not only love him in the movie, but I love him, as a human being. He’s an amazing guy. I can’t wait for people to see the movie and experience what he’s done.”
 
Revealing what he learned while filming Star Trek (2009) and how those lessons effected the sequel, he sad;
 
“It’s a far bigger movie. What I’m still grappling with and learning how to do is to be looking and thinking cinematically, having come from television. A lot of that is about keeping all that stuff in frame and understanding composition. There were things I wish I had done on the first movie, that I got a chance to do this time. There were shots I wished I’d gotten, that I never got a chance to get, so it was fun to get that chance this time. But, there are no gimmicky things that I’m aware of, that I’m imposing or forcing down an audience’s throat.”
 
Of course speculation is still rife about Khan being the villian, but we will find out soon enough.
 
Item 4 
 
On the comic book front IDW Publishing’s Countdown to Darkness comic-book miniseries is available now for pre-order from the Apple iBookstore, with Issue #1 set to arrive on January 16. Countdown to Darkness – penned by Mike Johnson, with art by David Messina, and overseen by Roberto Orci -is a four-issue saga that bridges the gap between the events of Star Trek (2009) and Star Trek Into Darkness, It’s also designed to provide fans a sneak peek at the upcoming film’s mysterious story.
 
Item 5 
 
Now Startrek.com has released The TOS Art Prints for January – “Mirror, Mirror,” “The Savage Curtain,” “The Tholian Web” and “Miri” — as T shirts. the prints, by artist Juan Ortiz, are available right now from Mighty Fine. The tee-shirts will cost $25 each. If you live in the USA and buy two you get free shipping.
Alas for those of us outside the USA we have to pay, I checked and standard UK shipping is $16.95 or about £11. So one shirt would cost about £30 with shipping. But I do like them. Taste of Amargedon and Miri look great.
 
Item 6 
Qmx have unveiled there federation class ring circa 2009 . Costing $19.99 about £15. 
The 1:1 scale, screen-accurate replica of the actual prop made of a high-strength, scratch-resistant metal alloy that simulates the sheen and brilliance of polished sterling silver, was  crafted from the screen-used hero ring and includes all the details of the original — even the black interior coating on the crest. It comes in a custom metal case with a clear topside window and sits in a floating vacuform stand, ready for display. 
I do love a lot of the stuff these guys do. I think if I lived in America I would be skint an awful lot with all the stuff you can buy out there.
 
Item 7 sponsor 
 
Item 8 feedback 
First up an email from Renee
 
“Hi, Colin,
 
It’s me again! 🙂 It was great to hear you guest on “Commentary Trek Stars” to talk about “Earth: Final Conflict”. I never watched the entire series but I still have a little personal connection with it that I’d like to share.  One year when I was visiting my grandmother in her assisted living center and helping take care of her, The Sci-Fi channel ran repeats of the show every day about 4 p.m. Grandma had physiotherapy weekdays from 4-5 so that was the one hour each day that I had to myself. After the first episode I looked forward to it every day because it was one of the few mental vacations I could take during that time. It sort of helped keep me sane, I guess. It was season 1 because I remember William Boone.  After hearing the review, I guess it was a good thing it wasn’t a later season! 🙂  I’m curious how you personally think it might have been different if Gene Roddenberry had done it himself.
 
I may have asked you this before, but did you ever watch the TV series “Roswell”? I guess Mike and Max will review that at some point too, since Ron Moore and Jonathan Frakes were involved.  There I did watch the entire series on DVD. I loved season 1 but by the end of season 2 I felt the show started to derail and lose its way. I didn’t like the last season at all, but watched it through just for the sake of completion. (After that I sold my DVD box set. )
 
Anyway I’m looking forward to next week’s “Andromeda” review. I watched some of that years ago but I’ll try to bone up on it a bit.
 
Have a great day,
Renee”
Next we have a voicemail from Jim arrow wood for turnabout intruder
 
Play mail
 
Next up Renee thoughts on our wrath of Khan review 
 
Play audio
 
Now Mike Clark from The Holodeck podcast contacted me, About comic writer / author Peter David who has had a stroke
he asked me to play this clip from comic artist J.K. Woodward who has been a guest on the Holo Deck and is also a good friend of Peter’s. In the clip J.K explains how people can support Peter in his time of need. So I will play that now.
 
Play clip. 
 
Good luck to Peter and my thoughts are with him and his family.
 
 
 
 
Item 9 
Benedict Cumberland sausage has been doing the interviews as well comparing  his villian with Soran he said; 
 “What actors like [McDowell] do is resist the moustache twirling, It’s very easy to come off as just crazy [in the villain role] and I tried with this role to look for something unsettling and investigative. He is a great story, my character. I can’t say who the guy is but his story has some amazing — and starkly modern — parables. And best of all, it’s been so much fun. Playing the not-good-guy is really fun. But that’s all I can say.”
 
When asked about the secrecy surrounding the film he went on to say;
 
“Mystique is rare now, isn’t it? There aren’t that many enigmas in this modern world,” Cumberbatch said. “Myself, I quite enjoyed seeing Super 8 and not knowing the story and then being mesmerized by it … [but] we live in the modern world, which is a place of oversaturation and now people, especially Trekkies, want to know everything before they witness it themselves. It’s strange to me. I think of it as a kid having a box of chocolates and not knowing what’s good for them. They eat three and they keep eating as they get sick… and the candy is gone.”
 
Now I disagree, my friend JD for instance hates spoilers, plus I’ve never eaten to much chocolate. I mean it’s chocolate how can you have to much even Q ate ten chocolate sundaes. 
 
Item 10 
Finally DVD news
CBS officially announced the release of the first season of Star Trek: Enterprise on Blu-ray. The six-disc set will be released on March 26th for a retail price of $130 (same retail price as the recent TNG sets which can be purchased discounted at around $80 currently at Amazon). The new Enterprise set contains a number of new audio commentaries with the cast and crew, including Rick Berman, Brannon Braga, Connor Trinneer, Dominic Keating and more. There are additional bonus features including a three-part documentary which will feature interviews with Berman, Braga, Mike and Denise Okuda and Scott Bakula.
Also 
Although CBS isn’t officially talking about it, some trek forums are awash with rumours that the third season of Star Trek: The Next Generation will be released on Blu-ray in early April (probably April 9th).
 
Apparently  CBS is planning a special stand-alone edition of “The Best of Both Worlds.” The new set will cut the two episodes into a single movie. Which I own as a VHS tape, although I have no way of playing it any more! 
 
So that’s it next week we are returning to the time travel episodes and are covering enterprise check out trek fm and our 10 podcasts, also if you care to feedback to me then do so at . . . . 
Leave a Reply

