Show notes for episode 30

Episode 30

news section

Two new Star Trek comics will be released tomorrow, but readers can see a preview of both issues today.

The comics are Star Trek #9, and Star Trek TNG/Doctor Who: Assimilation2 #1.

Star Trek #9, written by Mike Johnson with art by Stephen Molnar and covers by Tim Bradstreet andJoe Phillips, is the re-imagining of The Return of the Archons. In Star Trek #9, “Kirk, Spock and the crew search for a lost Starfleet ship that may hold clues to the future of the entire Federation.”

In Star Trek TNG/Doctor Who: Assimilation2 #1, written by Scott Tipton, David Tipton and Tony Lee, with art and covers by J.K. Woodward and covers by David Messina, “the Federation’s most terrifying enemy strikes an unholy alliance with one of the Doctor’s most hated antagonists, the result is devastation on a cosmic scale! Spanning the ends of space and time itself, Captain Jean-Luc Picard and the crew of the USS Enterprise find themselves joining forces with the Doctor and his companions, with the fate of the galaxy hanging in the balance!”

Both issues are thirty-two pages in length and will sell for $3.99 each.

Sticking with the reading material this Story is from StarTrek.com

Star Trek Magazine has arrived at the final frontier. The official Star Trek publication is available now, digitally, on Apple’s iOS Newsstand for iPhone and iPad, as well as the NOOK via Barnes and Noble. Star Trek Magazine explores every aspect of the Star Trek universe, from breaking news about the Star Trek sequel to book excerpts and from exclusive interviews to looking-back features about each era of the Star Trek franchise.

Readers who utilize Apple Newsstand are able to buy single issues and back issues, including annual souvenir specials, and can auto-renew subscriptions as well. Readers will receive new-issue notifications, and those issues can be downloaded automatically while other apps are open. Two issues will be priced at $15.99 US and at 10.99 pounds UK, while four issues will be priced at $31.99 US and at 22.49 pounds UK.

Star Trek Magazine, as noted, will also be available to American readers through NOOK, from Barnes and Noble. Using the NOOK app, readers can secure single issues or subscriptions that will be delivered instantly to their NOOK or iPhone, iPad, PC or Mac, or Android. Star Trek Magazine subscriptions via NOOK will cost $2.67 a month (delivered bi-monthly) or $8.99 per single issue.

As if we needed more proof that Star Trek is closer to science-fact than science-fiction these days, scientists at MIT have developed an alternative to the hypodermic needle. Called the Lorentz-force actuator, it’s a new drug-injection system that uses a near-supersonic jet stream to deliver medication in a pain-free fashion.

The Lorentz-force actuator features a powerful, minute magnet surrounded by a coil of wire that’s connected to a piston within a drug-filled vial (or ampoule). A current is applied, prompting the magnet to eject the capsule at very high pressure, which in turn pierces the skin. The patient feels only the equivalent of a mosquito bite. StarTrek.com has previously reported on other, similar products. What makes this device different is that it’s the first of its kind that can be adjusted to properly and precisely control delivery pressures and depths.

Movie news
Simon Pegg’s new movie A Fantastic Fear of Everything opens next week and while out promoting it, he is talking Star Trek. More specifically he is debunking spoiler reports about Benedict Cumberbatch’s character in the Star Trek sequel.

In the UK’s Telegraph. His new movie A Fantastic Fear of Everything opens up in the UK on June 8th, but the article also covers other aspects of his career, including Star Trek. The article quotes Pegg on his fellow Brit, and co-star. While Pegg confirmed that Cumberbatch is playing a bad guy, he didn’t give any details. Here is an excerpt:

Pegg is full of praise for Cumberbatch’s baddy, whom he describes [as] “not just another disgruntled alien. It’s a really interesting… sort of… thing,” he squirms. “Obviously I can’t talk about it.”

While not wanting to get specific, Pegg did flatly deny reports and rumors that Cumberbatch is playing Khan…

“It’s not Khan,” replies Pegg, annoyed. “That’s a myth. Everyone’s saying it is, but it’s not.”

Pegg also doesn’t mince words when it comes to spoilers, saying:

“It just spoils the film,” he complains. “It masquerades as interest in the movie but really it’s just nosiness and impatience. You just want to say, ‘Oh f— off! Wait for the film!’”
So is this more misdirection? Time will tell.

TREK HISTORY

May 2

Walter Koenig joined the cast of the original Star Trek as Chekov, and shot his first scenes as the character – for the episode “Catspaw” — on this day in 1967. “Catspaw” aired several months later, on October 27, 1967.

May 3

“Fury,” a sixth-season episode of Voyager, aired on this day in 2000. The episode marked the last appearance – as a series regular — of Jennifer Lien as Kes. It also marked the one and only scene between Kes and Seven of Nine.

May 4

Michael Minor passed away on this day in 1987, succumbing to AIDS. Minor had served as a conception and production illustrator on Star Trek: The Motion Picture and later as art director on Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan.

May 5

It was Enterprise vs. Enterprise in the “E2” episode of Enterprise, which aired on this day in 2004. David Andrews, who played the commander of the alternate NX-01, was and continues to be a consummate character actor. Among his many credits: The Burning Bed, Apollo 13, From Earth to the Moon, Fight Club, Hannibal, Terminator 3, JAG and, most recently, an episode of Lie to Me.

Main subject

Why I like Star trek

My personnel reason for liking StarTrek is a deep rooted one. For me StarTrek was an escape from the world around me from the things I had to endure and my situation . Seeing the re runs of the original series on the BBC and then watching TNG,DS9,Voyager and Enterprise has also given me that sparkle of hope. The hope that at some point in the future all the troubles that humanity deals with now will be gone. Exploitation,corruption,abuse the haves and the have nots will all be confined to the history books.
We will reach out as one species,irrespective of colour or religion and strive to find our place in the cosmos for the betterment of all.
StarTrek was and is my nirvana without that 40-45 minutes of what could be when I was growing up then I don’t know what I would have been.
I do know it inspired me,gave me hope and solace and was a light at the end of the tunnel.
But it’s not just me millions of people around the planet love StarTrek it has inspired thousands. After its second season, the network decided to cancel TOS. But a letter-writing campaign by fans, unprecedented in the business of television, caused network executives to reverse their decision and renew Star Trek for a third season. That’s how passionate people felt about it in the late sixties.
Well known and noted people love the show,physicist Stephen Hawking was a fan of the show. many women have testified that they were positively influenced by the show’s depiction of women scientists working alongside their male counterparts. Actress and comedian Whoopi Goldberg has said that seeing a black woman sitting on the bridge of a starship, and not working as a maid, made her believe as a young girl that she could be an actress with a real role. Mae Jamison, the first African-American woman to fly in space, has also said that she was deeply influenced by the show. Goldberg later played a regular on Star Trek: The Next Generation, and Jamison made a cameo appearance on the show.
Dr. Marc D. Rayman, the chief propulsion engineer at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory got into the field because of star trek, have you heard of a probe carrying itself to the edge of our solar system is using an ion drive? Well you can thank Spocks brain for that.
Martin Cooper, the chief engineer at Motorola, who invented the cell phone,states that Star Trek was his inspiration for the cell phone. He also has also stated how Star Trek introduced the concept of computer voice recognition dialling.
Seth Shostak, of SETI (Search for Extra Terrestrial Intelligence), has said StarTrek led him to astronomy.
Trek fan Ed Roberts, invented the first home computer, the Altair 8800, named after the solar system Altair (Altair 6) in the Star Trek episode Amok Time. This led to Bill Gates writing the computer programming language BASIC for the Altair and forming Microsoft.
Kevin Warwick at the University of Reading was inspired by the Borg. Warwick’s Cyborg implants, linking his own nervous system into the internet, are ground breaking.
Steve Perlman, at the time principal scientist at Apple Computer, was inspired to invent the QuickTime media player by watching an episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation.
The list goes on, but now I want to bring in your thoughts I put a call out in the last podcast on the Treknologic forums and on twitter. The response was truly wonderful and I want to thank everyone for participating here are some of your thoughts.
I would like to open with this voice mail from Miles of the scifi diner podcast
(play)
Thanks Miles and you can find the scifi diner podcast on iTunes podbean or via there own website,they cover all manner of scifi from Fringe to Walking dead and have interviews and movie reviews( play trailer)

Now I put a call out on twitter and got some great responses here are some of them;

From twitter
STOAdmiralAaron its reminds me it does get better!

Lee_Hutchison: Because DS9 showed a young me this first tv show to do long term arcs, extensive secondary guest characters and stories & characters with Shades of grey. No other trek show or other at the time had this that I watched and now it’s…what I look for in every good drama series.

tombad2378 I Love Star Trek because you get to meet loads of wonderful nice, interesting people from round the world that share our passion for Trek

marcstamper: i like Trek because it represents the hope for a better future, humans can work together to solve problems and bring about peace
Marc is from the Trekmate 1701 podcast

Now before we continue with the twitter feedback nada nice sedge way into other podcasts here is a voicemail from Josh of the Delta quadrant podcast. (play)
Thanks for that Josh and if you like voyager then you should be listening to the Delta quadrant podcast,released every Thursday.

Now back to twitter

RevSpunky: “because it’s awesome” is the only way to carry on from that statement.

DeeDeePix: Morning, Well I suppose I love star Trek because its what I hope the future will look like, and I always dreamed of taking the con 🙂

SandyBridgend Grew up with TOS. Lost both parents when I was 9. Looked up to James T Kirk and crew as heroes and role models

QueenKatblue Well was going to send you an email but email is acting up. Apologies for multiple dms. I love star trek becuase of the interaction between Characters. I like the friendships that evolve in the series. I love many of the stories – single shots and over arching story lines. I can get lost in star trek stories and relax, be entertained, challenge my thinking. I like the complexity of some of the characters. Not: All the villains are purely evil. Gul ducat is a prime example. I like the fact that when an episode is bad there is still some redeeming Part or bit of the episode. I love star trek music bit movies and episodes. I love star trek and the community it provides. Without it I Would not be able to share my love of trek with people who love it just as much. Amazing community w different points of view yet still able To respect each other.

@EvilVulcanChick: Well I’m just gonna keep it short and sweet. Honestly, there are so many things to love about Star Trek,but the thing I love most would probably have to be the characters. The different sci-fi stories are interesting, but it’s the characters that make or break Star Trek. If the characters were badly done you wouldn’t care that Spock died at the end of TWOK… and that movie would be a lesser movie. of course I love all the quirky things about Star Trek that only a fan would understand… catchphrases… things that are almost cliche but that none of us would change. And I love how Star Trek, by showing a world that had been brought together, brought the world together

Moyer777, which is Rick Moyer, musician podcaster artist and friend,says i love Star Trek because it offers hope of an awesome future where poverty and hunger are not issues anymore. I love the exploration : I also love the amazing entertainment that it offers. I prefer watching Trek over anything else. What great shows!

Ukgaz: I watched star trek since I was about 6 if i remember right, I had a few friends interested in it and picked up from there, recently I found : I’ve became a more stronger of interest and enjoyment with meeting the community based around star trek.

Now before we get into the next section here is an extensive voicemail from the Trekkie girls.(play) thanks Girls I greatly appreciate that and you can fund the Trekkie girls on YouTube and in there own blog.http://www.trekkiegirls.blogspot.co.uk/

Now Trek news and views has a little corner on the Treknologic forum and I asked for feedback from there to;

So FromTreknologic forums

Terrh wrote
I like Star Trek because it shows the wonders of what might be, which is far more entertaining than what is or has been before. Of all Sci Fi/Sci Fantasy out there, Star Trek is the most interesting.

Jeff wrote
Why do I like Trek?

For me Star Trek is about the relationships between the characters. I enjoy watching the friendships grow and develop over the years.

This is one of the reasons why I am so interested in Spock. At the beginning of his immense arc, I’m not sure he knows what friendship is. But he learns, and it’s cool to see this.

Picard also struggles with this concept. There are many great, interesting relationships in Star Trek which is my favorite thing about the show.

Plus I like space ships.

Also from Treknologic forums M’Ress sent this in via email.

I basically grew up with Star Trek. I remember catching bits of the first run of the Original Series in 1968 when I was five, and I watched the syndicated re-runs regularly from about 1970 onwards. I also watched the Animated Series when it ran on Saturdays.
After I got my first tape recorder, I recorded the audio of just about every episode (both live-action and animated) while watching it on TV. (It took quite a bit of convincing to keep my family quiet in the living room!) Later I played the tapes over and over until most of them wore out. And of course I got the action figures, concordances, View Master slides, jewelry and other memorabilia.

I was extatic when „Star Trek: The Motion Picture“ came to the cinema in 1979. Though it wasn’t the best of the films in retrospect, seeing Star Trek on the big screen for the first time was an unforgetable experience. Since then I have of course seen all the movies, and most of the episodes of the TV shows. Recently I’ve read some of the novels, as well.
I have a fun little personal Star Trek connection. One of my classmates in high school was Jeff Yagher, who later guest starred as Iden in the „Voyager“ episode „Flesh and Blood“. We were both in the school drama club in 1978 and ’79; he was an actor and I was in props and set design.
Why do I love Star Trek? As a child, it was purely for the adventure. Later on, I came to love its message of equality for all and hope for mankind’s future. It addresses very real social and political issues, but the sci-fi element allows us to step back and look at them from a different perspective. I think that is one of the characteristics of great science fiction.
I enjoy other sci-fi too, but Star Trek “has been, and always shall be”, part of my life. It’s wonderful that I can share that passion with great guys like you!

Now to emails;

And from Marc Tomas we have this email,

Starfleet does not fear the unknown They seeks it out, BOLDLY! Roddenbury shows us a future Age Of Discovery tempered by the secular ethics of anthropology, The Prime Directive. Humanity here, is part of The Universe not its victim or dominatrix. The human species is and see’s itself as a single collection of individuals rather than a divided and subdivided assortment of warring Nations. Infinite Diversity in Infinite Combinations.

What I like about Star Trek are these cornball ideals. Very few episodes live up to them but Trek is about hope as much as anything.

And here’s another reason to like it, Star Trek is often a gateway to the smarter end of the sci fi genre, scientific interest and even science itself if you do your arithmetic. While the science in Star Trek is frequently bogus, it stimulates curiosity and nurtures an appreciation for the real thing. This benefits the world.

Marc.

Michael emailed this in

· Hi,
I have liked Star Trek since the age of 9 and often people have asked me why? Some thirty years later my reasons are still the same:
Hope – Star Trek offers hope that one day we will stop screwing the planet and ourselves. Hope that we will end all the that’s bad and join together as a united planet. I think that’s why I hate end of the world stories, zombies and all that crap. I hope that we will become greater than what we are now. I share Gene’s dream.

· Reason – Star Trek stories always have a reason. Why does that Alien want to attack? Why has that star fleet captain gone crazy? It’s not just about the good guys destroying the villain of the week, there context. Look at Arena, the Gorn were defending their sector when they attack Cestus III. Growing up I found this so useful in understanding why people do the things they do. That is what stand Star Trek out from other films, it asks the question why.

· Characters – over each version of Star Trek there have been some great characters created. They make mistakes, they make us laugh & cry, we look up to them, we even want to be them but most of all they take us on some great adventures. In each series (except Enterprise, sorry) I have been able to feel all these with my favourite characters: Captain Picard, Ensign Ro, Commander Troi, Captain Janeway, Captain Sisko, and of course Kirk, Spock & Bones. Even Barclay & Mr. Eddington who were written so well showed that people have issues.

· Adventure – most importantly Star Trek has some great stories. They keep you enthralled, wanting more. Of course there have been so bum episodes in all the incarnations but that’s the price you pay from over 700 hours of Star Trek. The stories don’t have to be about space battles, phaser fights & end of the galaxy struggles (though they are great too) but about social issues that we have all encountered in one way or another.
Four reasons but they mean a lot to me. I am sorry if this has sounded very wishy washy. We all have our own reasons why Star Trek means so much to us but I hope this helps.

Live Long & Prosper…

Michael
Both fantastic emails and I thank you for sending them in, now before we come to the next emailed we have this voicemail from Mike of Commentary trac stars ( play) thanks Mike you can find Mike and Max’s movie commentary at iTunes and podbean ( play promo)

Finally Joe who could not make it tonight emailed this

Why I like Trek… hmm… I like the what if aspect of it, like what if humanity did this, would we actually reach the stars or just fall short and not leave our own solar system? what if there are extra terrestrials out there that have advanced technology, what would they be like? The whole premise of Star Trek leaves all that and more open to the imagination while showing us what others think it will/could be like. I am fascinated by the prospect of not being confined to our atmosphere, our solar system, heck even by the outer edge of our galaxy. I like the fact that Star Trek has inspired much of modern technology, and will continue to inspire future technology for generations to come. it is a great vessel for getting people interested in science and engineering. and finally, the space ships are cool lol.

Thank you to one and all for the feedback, if you would like to add your thoughts you can email me at Treknewsandviews@gmail.com, or tweet me Treknewsviews on twitter. Thanks for reading/listening

One thought on “Show notes for episode 30

Leave a Reply

