Trek music

20111210-150846.jpg

Welcome to trek news and views for December the 10th 2011

This week in the podcast if you stick around after the news there will be some trek music from various artists.
I would like to thank 5year mission for there permission to use their music, Rick Moyer from Rick Moyer.com and star trek parodies.com for letting me use his music as well. The other music is public domain,or artist acquired and I thank everyone involved in them for allowing my indulgence. Most if the music featured is available via the artists websites and iTunes.
Whilst on the thank you train, I would like to thank

So to the news,
Venezuelan Actor Edgar Ramirez front-runner for Star Trek villain

The latest Star Trek sequel villain casting news comes from Variety, with sources saying that Venezuelan actor Edgar Ramirez is the “front-runner,” with Jordi Molla (Columbiana) “also in the mix. Both actors are expected to test for the role over the next two days and director JJ Abrams is reported to be interested in making a decision before the end of the week. It is noted that there may be some issue regarding scheduling with Ramirez, however Variety sources say “Abrams wouldn’t consider any actor if they were unavailable.”

Regarding Ramirez, Variety notes the actor has been “pursued by the studios since his breakout turn as infamous terrorist Carlos the Jackal in Olivier Assayas’ miniseries Carlos.” The 34 year-old actor has also appeared in Domino, The Bourne Ultimatum and Vantage Point, and will soon be seen as Ares in Wrath of the Titans.

George Takei has completed voiceover work on the upcoming film Strange Frame: Love & Sax. The movie, the world’s first animated lesbian sci-fi movie, features Takei as a character named Tamadamsa. Other voice talent includes a mix of sci-fi  favorites, among them Michael Dorn, Claudia Black, Tara Strong, Ron Glass and Claudia Christian.

Anyone who  plays the videogame The War of the Worlds, which was released last month for Xbox Live well  If so, then you surely recognized the voice of Arthur Clark, as that of none other than Patrick Stewart. Arthur is the narrator in the story.

John Billingsley says that Star Trek Enterprise was killed because of greed.

The actor who  played Dr. Phlox in all four seasons of Enterprise. The spin-off was the first Star Trek to be cancelled, rather than naturally come to a conclusion, since the original series which was axed in 1969 after three seasons.

In a recent interview with Indy Star the actor put the demise of the series down to greed. He said ‘The reality is you can’t write a novel by committee. Any great work of art is the product of one man’s vision. The early series were Roddenberry’s. … But what happened with Voyager and our show Enterprise, and I don’t mean this in any way as a knock on our executive producers … but Paramount was saying more, more, more, more, more, because they viewed this as a commercial product. Nothing in television works when it is brought into being by the marketing department. Paramount kind of sabotaged itself. I think they got greedy, and that’s what studios do, unfortunately, because they are run largely by bean counters.”

The actor added, of the show’s  four seasons, ‘It’s a miracle we got four seasons. Any other TV show would have been yanked after one season. Our ratings were abysmal. We opened well, we had a great audience for the first episode, and they watched it and they said, “This is nothing new. It’s the same Star Trek I’ve been watching for years and years. It’s a retread.”
So what do you think do you agree, if you want to drop me your thoughts on the show then do so at treknewsandviews @gmail.com

Star trek Tech.?
Fancy an An X-ray machine that fits in a pocket and most definitely resembles a  tricorder? It’s almost a reality .  A California-based company, Tribogenics, has developed a prototype which they call a Pocket XRF Analyser,  just this week they secured $2.5 million in funding to support their effort to bring it to market. Among its potential uses, the XRF Analyzer could be used at airports to detect radioactive elements, by jewellers to identify gold, and, perhaps most significantly, to reduce radiation risks faced by doctors, nurses and patients in medical settings. One more step into the future. What with This development and the Uk team working on a bio bed. We are getting closer and closer to sickbay.

Collectables

Well if you fancy splashing some cash on collectables for Christmas how about buying some if the 45th anniversary merchandise available.
You can get a 45th  anniversary mug from $13 or a baseball cap for $25 with a nice tee shirt to round off your little ensemble for for another $25. So you can sit there in your t shirt,holding your mug with hot coffee in it under your nice cap and bask in the glow of the past 45 years of Trek.
Speaking of collectables next week I will be doing a Star trek gift and collectable podcast. So if you have something you think we should mention let me know.

As usual you can see the show notes on the holosuite website,Wordpress and pod bean. Where you can also get the podcast if you ever have problems with iTunes .

So if you reading this thank you and for the listeners, here we go with the first track from Rick Moyer.
The tracks that Rick has done can all be found at http://startrekparodies.com. All his other endeavours are available as well, so any on the festive cheer and this song, it’s beginning to look a lot like Trekmas.

It’s beginning to look a lot like Trekmas
words and sung by Rick Moyer

It’s beginning to look a lot like Trekmas
As we boldly go
Starfleet women and the men, all going at warp factor 10
Making friends with alien races just to know

It’s beginning to look a lot like Trekmas
On the planet to which we beam
There’s foam made into  rocks and science officer Spock
On our own away team

Romulan ale a face that is pale
A galaxy full of stars
Planets with life and peace from the strife
A colony settled on Mars
The prime directive keeps us all from going way to far

It’s beginning to look a lot like Trekmas
As we boldly go
There’s a ship in the shuttle bay the kind that will fly away
That we can go to san Francisco Bay
It’s beginning to look a lot like Trekmas
There’s nothing that we can’t do
Take a seat in the captains chair and lets go see what’s out there
Discover civilizations that are new

Next a song from the brilliant 5 year mission, this is Amok time.

Now the music that is one of the two pieces that I use in the podcast, the revamp of the voyager theme.

Back to Rick Moyer now for little Ferengi boy

Buy they told me gold pressed latinum
Don’t give anything for free gold pressed latinum
They’ll pay interest to us gold pressed latinum
To give the grand Nagus gold pressed latinum latinum num, latinum num
So to exploit them, pressed latinum
Profits are fun

Rules of acquisition gold pressed latinum
Devine treasury gold pressed latinum
Ferengar’s  not so crisp gold pressed latinum
To win at Tongo quick gold pressed latinum, latinum latinum
Tube grubs for the win, gold pressed latinum
Profits are fun

Quark he nodded, gold pressed latinum
Rom and Leeta were there, gold pressed latinum
Nog and the dabo girls gold pressed latinum
Odo was far from thrilled gold pressed latininum, latinum
Sisko watched it all gold pressed latinum
Profits are Fun, Profits are fun

Now from Johnny anon, yes that’s his stage name we have “the night before Trekmas”,
http://www2.mp3raid.com/search/download-mp3/48039/star_trek.html

Now I asked Five year mission onto the show but alas they got a booking, so seeing as a booking involves money and coming on here don’t well I lost. But that will not stop you enjoying this track called Galileo seven, there music videos and website can all be found at
http://fiveyearmission.net.

Ok two more this is the last one from Rick Moyer thank god I’m a Star Trek boy.
Thank God I’m a Star Trek Boy, you can buy this at iTunes .
A parody of Thank God I’m a Country Boy by John Denver
Lyrics and sung by Rick Moyer

Well life as a geek is kind of laid back
Ain’t nothin like an OS that I can’t hack
I actually know the difference between pc and a Mac
Thank God I’m a Star Trek boy!

Every time it’s on I can’t help my self
I set the DVR even though there on my shelf
I’ve seen them all many times their good or my health
Thank God I’m a Star Trek boy!

Well I got me a phaser got me a tribble
When Kirk’s on the tube I just have to giggle
Life ain’t nothin but a space opera riddle
Thank God I’m a Star Trek boy!

Well the votes still out for Picard or Kirk
They both have their strong points that all kind of work
One likes to talk the others just a jerk
Thank God I’m a Star Trek boy!

The enterprise d looks like a lot of fun
But classic is the good old 1701
Both have torpedoes and phaser gun
Thank God I’m a Star Trek boy!

Well I got me a phaser got me a tribble
When Kirk’s on the tube I just have to giggle
Life ain’t nothin but a space opera riddle
Thank God I’m a Star Trek boy!

Well there’s TOS and TNG
DS9 and Voyager you see
Enterprise and the cartoon series
Thank God I’m a Star Trek boy!

To boldly go where no one’s gone before
Going on adventures strange new world’s and more
I love every hour cause I’m a trekkie to the core
Thank God I’m a Star Trek boy!

Well I got me a phaser got me a tribble
When kirks on the tube I just have to giggle
Life ain’t nothin but a space opera riddle
Thank God I’m a Star Trek boy!

Yeah the movies are good the even ones the best
But I watch em all cause I like all rest
Every single one puts the crew to the test
Thank God I’m a Star Trek boy!

Now spending all money on merchandise
I bought another collectible against my wife’s advice
But seriously to me it’s worth the price!
Thank God I’m a Star Trek boy!

Well I got me a phaser got me a tribble
When Kirk’s on the tube I just have to giggle
Life ain’t nothin but a space opera riddle
Wooooo! Thank God I’m a Star Trek boy!

Now I would like to thank you all for listening next week,Trek gifts. As usual drop me a line at Treknewsandviews@gmail.com or follow me in twitter @colmh01.
Thank you for reading or listening

Live long and podcast.

Leave a Reply

